This Place Will Change

Posted on Updated on

Howdy readerditos, New Years is upon us again. 2014 is about to pull into port leaving the dying embers of its predecessor’s funeral pyre behind it. We stand at the forefront of another rotation around the sun, 364 days as we ride on a giant ball through space, and when I put it  like that the passage into a new year sounds significant in ways I haven’t thought about before. In light of this, I’m going to divert from my original train of thought and talk momentarily about the hugeness of the Universe.

A few weeks ago I was contemplating stars, the beauty of them and the vastness of them. There’s a song lyric that goes ‘Beneath the stars came fallin’ on our heads/ But they’re just old light, they’re just old light’  a line that makes me feel incredibly small and incredibly quiet because of it’s truth and the emotion with which it is sung. I remember hearing once that if the nearest star to us, (Proxima Centauri, at a distance of 4.243 light years) has a life sustaining planet and we had been beaming the history of Earth since the dawn of its existence, the people circling that sun would be currently watching dinosaurs. My mind was a might bit blown at that idea. Here we are, this tiny rock floating about in the space equivalent of the middle of nowhere, some  37,256 years travel from our nearest possible spacial neighbour, alone as far as we know, since we spiraled down as space dust millions and millions of centuries ago. The ability to even contemplate such a matter with comprehensive train of thought is beyond my capabilities; my brain overloads on the awe and just stews in philosophical what ifs for a while before routinely shutting down with a customary whirr. Since this is a tangent I feel I ought to now round the issue back to it’s original topic, and perhaps return to this at a later date. Let’s continue with our scheduled blogging topic.

New Year. Here it is again, sprouting recollections on the events of the passing year; one obvious note on my part this year is my lack of blogging, to the point where past February I haven’t added content at all. There are a myriad of reasons for this most of which arn’t worth getting into. I got bored of book reviews; I don’t feel I’m particularly skilled at them, and I certainly don’t give great information on new releases. The pressure I placed upon myself to read and produce subsequent articles just tainted my love of writing here altogether… and then life does what it does best and got in the way. My employments kept me increasingly busy and personal issues often removed spare time. The dust gathered as days became weeks and weeks turned into month after month. I just didn’t have the enthusiasm inside me for this page. I tried a few times to gather some energy and write about something, a review, a thought or anything, but I couldn’t manage it. I quickly lost interest and saw no sense in forcing myself to continue.

Then a few days ago, some bad news compelled me to turn once again to this place. It’s odd when things like that happen, I’m not entirely sure why my first thought was to come here and type out my feelings after so long. In a way, I knew this blog was made to be used and used as a place of expression, and I was called back because suddenly I needed it and I wanted it again. I didn’t think too much about the words so much as I did the emotion behind them. Liquid feelings spilling onto the page for the first time in months without any real effort. I remembered suddenly what this blog used to be like to write. When I began three years ago, I just liked being able to put as much or as little effort into the page as I wanted. If I just wanted to mind-stream I did, if I wanted to philosophize on random life events, or talk about random subjects I just did. This was a blog about expression and freedom to experiment with writing, however I wanted. I spoiled that when I attempted to pull some formula into the mix, when I set unnecessary deadlines and goals. In light of this revaluation, in 2014 this blog will be changing.

I’m not 100% sure on the details yet, but I’ll be integrating the old aspects as of now. I will no longer be writing book reviews unless I am compelled to, or I feel I can say something about the book I feel has been previously unsaid. Instead, I’ll be reverting back to classic blog posts involving life, odd topics and articles, with the hope of producing content of a regular, if unscheduled, basis. We’re going to fun here in 2014, that’s the only goal. I’m contemplating a name change also, but as yet, I’m undecided. We’ll see; there’s no rush, and no pressure… which is the point.

I will now take my leave and which you all a very prosperous new year 2014. May you work towards your wishes and reach high for your dreams, and be more than you were in 2013.

Kiss a lover,
Dance a measure,
Find your name
And buried treasure.

Face your life,
It’s pain,
It’s pleasure,
Leave no path untaken.

Neil GaimanThe Graveyard Book

Leave a Reply

