Neil Gaiman talks about the Library

Posted on

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/oct/15/neil-gaiman-future-libraries-reading-daydreaming?CMP=twt_gu

If you love libraries, you should read this. If you don’t know why you should love libraries, you should read this. You should learn and imprint these words in your heart and pass them on whenever you can. The world cannot be a place without libraries. There is no man that can put forth such a heartfelt argument as Sir Gaiman.

Read it. Share it.

One thought on “Neil Gaiman talks about the Library

    Kama said:
    October 17, 2013 at 12:14

    Haha! I’ve read it. I always loved libraries tho I might not be using them much these days. Usually I buy the books I want/like or borrow them from friends as often libraries don’t have the books I’d like to read. If not for library, I wouldn’t read “Dune” by Herbert nor “Master and Margaret” by Bulkhakov, two of the best books ever. 🙂

    I liked it, so I posted about it on my blog too. Hopefully more people will read that. And hopefully some people will do as Gaiman suggests: tell the politicians that we want books and libraries to stay for ever. And for them to take the books and libraries seriously. It’s quite saddening to read that many countries (my own included too) are saving money on something so important. The future without reading (especially for pleasure) is scary, as Gaiman said, but the future can be changed. If people act. I’m hoping for that.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

