Dancing Instead of Writing, Literally.

Posted on Updated on

I was going to write today, honest I was. I had good intentions and an early start, and an essay defending video-games to get done, and a short-story to revise, and a novel chapter just paragraphs away from its end. I was feeling good about getting most of my list covered before I had shrine-duty. Like one of those cliche romance movies, it was all going so well until I had my breakfast while watching an episode of the anime series, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. The end credits of the first season of the show depicts the characters doing a dance to a song called Hare Hare Yukai. In full, not the shorter version used in the credits, the dance goes like this. After watching the episode, I had the song, which if you click that link you’ll know is very catchy, stuck rooted in my brain.

In an attempt to weed the rhythm from my head, I found the full version on youtube and listened to it a few times; in actual fact a counter-active move on my part, because the volume of the tune just got louder in my brain. Many of the side links to the video, in the related-video feed on the right hand side of the screen, were groups of cosplayers and individuals who, having learned the moves, recreated the dance with varying levels of aptitude, accuracy and interpretation. Alright, I thought, wildly to myself closing the word document I had opened not fifteen minutes before hand, and never would again this day, I want in on this. Not recorded and uploaded on a video sharing site, of course, but I wanted in on knowing the Hare Hare Yukai.

Turns out there aren’t any decent tutorials uploaded, but lots of people have posted versions of the dance-video from the credits in slow-motion so it’s easier to follow. I found this one, which plays it half-speed and then full-speed, and started learning the sequence of steps as best I could. Funny, I didn’t realise how fast it was, upon first viewing. Hours I spent, with small interludes with which I conducted research on the artistic value of video-games, repeating the same moves over-and-over, studying carefully the quick motions of screen to capture the next step. Despite how terrible I am, I actually had a lot of fun, and good work-out trying to dance correctly. Now, at almost eleven o’clock, I’m calling it a night, but during the course of the day I’d say I’ve managed to accurately learn about 60% of the dance moves. Albeit not very good, but better than I was at 10.00 am this morning.

I feel energised and satisfied, and a little accomplished. I want to continue my pointless pursuit of the knowledge of this dance. Every morning, for at least an hour, I’m going to practise this dance, and it will only be an hour, perhaps an hour and a half, from now on. Maybe if I learn it all, I’ll post the video here. However, that would be condusive of my being as good as this group, which isn’t very likely, at least not in the near future.

So, that’s how I didn’t write today, but I don’t really regret it.

Leave a Reply

