Flowers From Anna

Posted on Updated on

I haven’t received flowers from anyone for over two years, and so when my friend arrived to dinner this evening with a bunch of beautiful pink roses, I was touched, and I felt extremely lucky indeed. When she also produced a three course meal all tailored to my particular dietary needs, I was astounded, and when she also added a box of chocolate-chip cookies, I began to worry she was attempting to pursue a romantic interest. I am kidding, Anna is just a lovely person, who does lovely things, and often bedazzles me with her uplifting spirit, and unrelenting kindness.

We made pizza. We watched a movie. We spoke about a lot of interesting stuff. It was one of those simple evenings that make the world bearable in times of deep misfortune, and make the world beautiful when everything else appears false, and lifts the soul to the realm where miracles are still possible in the everyday.

Moreover, I took the Enneagram test, which is constituted of scale questions relating to a persons interaction with the world and I discovered I am Enneagram Type Two: The Helper. According to the data I am

’empathetic, sincere, and warm-hearted. They are friendly, generous, and self-sacrificing, but can also be sentimental, flattering, and people-pleasing. They are well-meaning and driven to be close to others, but can slip into doing things for others in order to be needed. They typically have problems with possessiveness and with acknowledging their own needs. At their Best: unselfish and altruistic, they have unconditional love for others.’

Which is flattering, and a something I hope for the most part is true. People, like Anna, remain important elements to my existence; I do not believe I would thrive in a life where I had to stand alone against the odds stacked before mankind, nor would I want to.

If we people do not look out for each other, then no one else will.

This has been a weird blog, but weird blogs are so often the most fun, and so often the most meaningful.

2 thoughts on “Flowers From Anna

    Max said:
    July 13, 2011 at 10:50

    Is this Anna Maria Radwell?

      Alice Radwell responded:
      July 16, 2011 at 16:55

      No, I’m afraid not. My name is Alice Radwell, I write this blog. Anna is not related to me. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

